Presidential Search

Screening Committee Narrows List of Candidates to 12

AVON PARK, Fla., Feb. 26, 2013...Members of the South Florida State College Presidential Search Screening Committee met today to narrow the list of 48 candidates to 12.

The candidates are:

Keith J. Cotroneo, President, Mountwest Community and Technical College, Huntington, W.V.

Dorothy J. Duran, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Iowa Western Community College, Council Bluffs, Iowa

Gilbert L. Evans, Vice President for Student Services/Assistant General Counsel, St. Johns River State College, Palatka, Fla.

Marie F. Gnage, President, West Virginia University at Parkersburg, Parkersburg, W.V.

John R. Holdnak, Executive Vice Chancellor/Vice Chancellor for Financial Policy, Florida Department of Education-Division of Florida Colleges, Tallahassee, Fla.

Thomas C. Leitzel, President, Technical College of the Lowcountry, Beaufort, S.C.

Thomas LoBasso, Senior Vice President, Student Development and Institutional Effectiveness, Daytona State College, Daytona Beach, Fla.

Paul D. Nagy, Special Assistant to the President, Strategic Planning and Analysis, Hillsborough Community College, Tampa, Fla.

Carlisle B. Rathburn III, President, Texas A&M University-Texarkana, Texarkana, Texas

Cheryl L. Thompson-Stacy, President, Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown, Va.

Rhonda Richards Tracy, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, West Virginia University at Parkersburg, Parkersburg, W.V.

Allen A. Witt, Campus President, Hillsborough Community College, Ruskin, Fla.

Each of the 12 candidates will be asked to submit a 10-minute video addressing at least three questions pertinent to the presidential position and to SFSC’s future. The videos will be made available to Screening Committee members on March 8. At its meeting on March 19, the committee will narrow candidates to four or five finalists and present their names to the SFSC District Board of Trustees who will choose the next president of SFSC.

President Norman L. Stephens Jr., who has served SFSC since 2002, retires from the college on June 30, 2013.