Highlands County Take Stock Scholars

AVON PARK, Fla. – May 10, 2019 – Take Stock in Children inducted 15 new students representing Avon Park, Hill-Gustat, Lake Placid, and Sebring middle schools during recent contract signings at The Hotel Jacaranda in Avon Park. Parents and family members, as well as school administrators, were on hand to congratulate their students and welcome them into Take Stock Nation. The South Florida State College (SFSC) Foundation is the lead agency for Take Stock within the College’s service district of DeSoto, Hardee, and Highlands counties. 

The new Take Stock scholars are Janelle Hamilton from Avon Park Middle School; Jacob Mata from Hill-Gustat Middle School; Hanna DeYoung, Yadira Mendoza-Solis, Taylor Pollard, and Jennifer Vasquez-Perea from Lake Placid Middle School; and Eliza Diaz, Celia Fabian Geronimo, Brenda Hernandez, Angel Orgaz, Kristina Rose, Angye Sanchez-Rodriguez, Orlando Souder, and Phoenix Winchester from Sebring Middle School.   

Six DeSoto Middle School eighth graders, who joined the Take Stock family, were invited to the School District of DeSoto County board room where they were recognized in front of parents and family. The new scholars were Nicolas Aguilar-Mendez, Jose Contreras, Marisa Espinoza, Omar Jones II, Jorge Olivera-Rivas, and Marcos Villafuerte. Adrian Cline, superintendent of the School District of DeSoto County, and Jamie Bateman, executive director of the SFSC Foundation presented framed Take Stock certificates to each scholar.   

In exchange for a two-year college scholarship valued at over $6,000, all inducted scholars agree to maintain a grade of C or better in every class, remain crime-free and drug-free, attend school regularly and exhibit good behavior.