AVON PARK, Fla. – Dec. 7, 2016 – Students studying for careers in the health sciences at South Florida State College received nearly $11,000 in scholarships thanks, in part, to the state’s leading health insurer. Florida Blue.

The scholarships will go to students in SFSC’s nursing, dental education, and radiography programs.

The funding for the scholarships comes from a partnership forged by the Florida College System (FCS) Foundation and Florida Blue. Together they launched the scholarships to meet the growing need for nurses and allied health professionals who serve Florida’s growing population.

“Because of Florida Blue’s support for health sciences education, SFSC can ensure students studying toward careers in radiography, nursing, and dental assisting and hygiene will have the assistance they need to complete their studies,” said Jamie Bateman, SFSC’s executive director of Institutional Advancement. “This year we will award $10,852 to students who will soon start high-wage careers in one of our region’s most important sectors of the economy.”

The students received their scholarship awards at the December meeting of SFSC’s District Board of Trustees on the college’s Highlands Campus in Avon Park.

The FCS Foundation, a Tallahassee-based nonprofit, solicits gifts and donations from corporations and individuals for distribution to Florida’s 28 community and state colleges. SFSC has received scholarships for health sciences students since 2006. Florida Blue, formerly known as Blue Cross and Blue Shield, provides individual and group health insurance to millions of Floridians. The SFSC Foundation provided a 50 percent match to draw down the funding.

Students can use the scholarship for tuition, lab fees, child care, and, textbooks. For some students, this will be the only financial assistance they receive.

Students receiving the scholarship study in three health sciences disciplines. Dental Education: Yaritza Davila, Danai Morales, Riley White, Amanda Rutledge, and Anna Wiley. Nursing: Angela Hester, Mishel Franklin, and Shea Young. Radiography: Toi Reaves, Melissa Hernandez, Derek Whitten, and Rachel Ohly.