AVON PARK, Fla. – Nov. 16, 2016 – SFSC and its employees garnered recognition and awards for their commitment to furthering the Florida College System (FCS) and its students during the 67th Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) Annual Meeting and Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., Nov. 1-4.

AFC is a 7,100-member nonprofit organization that advocates for Florida’s 28 community and state colleges who are members of the FCS.

During the conference, Dr. Robert Flores, SFSC director of remodeling, renovation and maintenance, was sworn in as president of AFC for 2017; Rick Hitt, SFSC athletic director and head baseball coach, was inducted into the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) Hall of Fame; and Tami Cullens, SFSC trustee, was named Trustee of the Year.

SFSC won the 2016 Chancellor’s Best Practices Award for Erik Christensen’s submission on “Optimizing Textbook Affordability Via Open Educational Resources (OER).” Christensen, dean of applied sciences and technologies, and Dr. Rodger Smith, professor of psychology, made a presentation on the topic during the conference.

Claire Miller, librarian, won a Learning Resources Exemplary Practice award for Library/Learning Resource Center Services for 2016. Her proposal was “Slaying the Monster: Implementing Integrated and Stand-Alone Plagiarism Workshops.”  She made a presentation on the topic during the conference.

The college received two Communications and Marketing Commission Awards of Excellence: second place for the category Specialty Advertising/Promotion Items for a giveaway keychain designed for the opening of the Alan J. Wildstein Center for the Performing Arts and third place for the category Advertising – Print for the 50th anniversary Lake Placid Center Sock Hop advertisement.

SFSC was recognized with the 2016 Platinum Chapter award and the Membership Award for a chapter that has 50 percent or more employees as AFC members.