South Florida State College offers a variety of driver improvement programs at three sites within DeSoto, Hardee, and Highlands counties.
Atención estudiantes de conducción:(Attention driving students) Si usted no entiendes inglés, debe traer un intérprete con usted a la clase. (If you do not understand English, you should bring an interpreter with you to class.) Su intérprete no tiene que pagar por la clase. (Your interpreter isn’t required to pay for the class.)
SFSC does not offer courses for DUI offenders.
Online Drivers Education Classes
Receive a ticket? First-time driver?
Whether you’re a new driver, have received a traffic ticket, or simply want to improve your skills, SFSC has online drivers education classes that are convenient for you. Start now and you can be finished within a few hours. Our driver improvement course is the fastest way to get your certificate of completion. State Approved in all 67 Florida Counties.
- 4-Hour Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course ($20)
- 4-Hour Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course (En Español) ($20)
- DMV Permit Test Online ($29)
- DMV Permit Test Online (En Español) ($29)
- 12-Hour Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course ($63)
- 4-Hour Florida First Time Driver Course ($29)
- 4-Hour Florida First Time Driver Course (En Español) ($29)
- 8-Hour Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course ($59)
- Florida 6-Hour Mature Driver Course ($15)
Alcohol Drug Accident Prevention Training (ADAPT) $55
This four-hour course is required of all first-time applicants for a driver’s license who have not completed a Florida Department of Education – approved driver education course. This course focuses on Florida’s traffic laws and the consequences of substance abuse and its effects on your ability to drive responsibly. This course is offered in-person. For dates and more information, visit the personal interest catalog at http://www.southflorida.edu/community/community-education.
Safe Driving Accident Prevention Program (SDAPP) $55
SDAPP is for students who have received a traffic citation, a citation as a result of a traffic accident, or ordered by the court. Students must provide their citation number or court case number if order by the court when registering for this class. The Safe Driving Accident Prevention four-hour course may also be taken to reduce auto insurance rates. Students must check with their individual insurance companies for approval. It is the responsibility of the students to report taking this class to their insurance company for discounted rates. This course is offered in-person. For dates and more information, visit the personal interest catalog at http://www.southflorida.edu/community/community-education.
Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI)
The Advanced Driver Improvement is required if you have accumulated sufficient points to result in license suspension. This 12-hour traditional classroom course concentrates on providing you with the tools to develop positive attitudes and behaviors while maintaining control of a motor vehicle. This course is offered in-person. Call 863-784-7034 to learn more about this class.