AVON PARK, Fla.–Feb. 6, 2015–South Florida State College’s (SFSC) Brain Bowl team has earned a spot in the National Academic Quiz Tournaments (NAQT) Community College Championship Tournament, which will take place Feb. 27 -28 in Atlanta, Ga.

SFSC’s Brain Bowl team visited State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota, on Jan. 23 to compete in the NAQT South Florida Community College Sectional Tournament. Among the field of twelve teams, SFSC’s Brain Bowl team tied for fourth place, with seven wins and four losses. Based upon this performance, SFSC’s team is ranked seventh nationally by the NAQT and earned an invitation to the field of 24 teams to compete for the Community College National Championship.

“These are not easy questions,” said Cheryl John, SFSC Brain Bowl co-advisor and professor of developmental mathematics. “It is not like jeopardy. These students practice several times a week with Dr. Brian Deery, SFSC Brain Bowl co-advisor and professor of psychology, going over questions for hours. They also have their own packets of questions that they are expected to ‘own,’ meaning that when those questions come up in a tournament in some manner, they have the responsibility of buzzing in before the other team to get the 10 points. It was not easy getting into a national slot. We are proud of the team’s hard work.”

“The team showed great spirit and never gave up,” Dr. Deery said. “I’m proud of their success and I’m looking forward to nationals.”

In addition to SFSC’s team, nine other colleges from the Florida College System earned invitations to NAQT’s Community College Championship Tournament including Broward College, College of Central Florida, Seminole State College, State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota, Tallahassee Community College, Chipola College, Northwest Florida State College, Florida Gateway College, and Valencia College.

SFSC would like to recognize the following students who represented SFSC at the NAQT South Florida Community College Sectional tournament including Logan Boyd, Mike Cao, and Christian Reitnauer. Along with Boyd, Cao, and Reitnauer, Garett Edenfield, Mattew Estima, and Jordan Thorton will be representing SFSC at the NAQT Community College Championship Tournament. Other Brain Bowl team member include Tiffany McDonald, Jorge Lopez, Jose Guerrero, James Santeen, Dakota Bryan, and Maria Zompa.

For more information on NAQT, visit https://www.naqt.com/.