Group Scholars

Front row, from left: Nicole Darder, Alexis Drzewucki, Annsley Bohlman, Katherine Oyola, Melissa Garcia-Rodriguez, Heather Oyola, Dr. Charlotte Pressler. Back row, from left: Christian Reitnauer, Carlos Negron, Mathew Estima. Not pictured: James Pinkney, Kayleen Prestridge, William Sager, and Tyler Whalen.

AVON PARK, Fla.–Jan. 28, 2016 –South Florida State College awarded 13 students in its honors program the Edward K. Roberts Book Scholarship, an award that helps students cover the cost of textbooks.

Students awarded the merit-based scholarship receive $250 in the form of a credit they can use toward the purchase of textbooks at the Campus Store, the bookstore on SFSC’s Highlands Campus.

SFSC’s Honors Program offers students cultural enrichment, smaller classes, scholarship opportunities, and special recognition at the graduation ceremony as well as an honors endorsement on their Associate in Arts degree and transcript. Honors student also take part in a service-learning project in the community.

Students receiving the scholarship must enroll in one Honors course during the academic term in which they receive the scholarship. Returning students must achieve a 3.30 cumulative college grade point average and continue to make satisfactory progress toward the Honors Program Associate in Arts degree.

Nicole Darder, tapped as one of the awardees, singled out the service-learning project as one of the more rewarding features of the Honors Program. “Through the service-learning project, we participate in new and enriching experiences outside of the classroom,” she said. “That contributes greatly to our leaning.”

Dr. Charlotte Pressler, who teaches English and philosophy, heads up the Honors Program. She said SFSC is delighted to work with the Roberts Fund and the SFSC Foundation to recognize students for their outstanding scholarship.

Two other awardees, Mathew Estima and Christian Reitnauer have also drawn recognition for their academic performance through their participation in Phi Theta Kappa, an international academic honor society. They have been selected for the All-Florida Academic Team, which recognizes outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership, and service to the community.

Students receiving the Edward K. Roberts Book Scholarship this spring are: Annsley Bohlman, Nicole Darder, Alexis Drzewucki, Mathew Estima, Melissa Garcia-Rodriguez, Carlos Negron, Heather Oyola, Katherine Oyola, James Pinkney, Kayleen Prestridge, Christian Reitnauer, William Sager, and Tyler Whalen.

For more information, contact Charlotte Pressler, director of the SFSC Honors Program, at 863 784-7247.